Grace Period for New Jersey Property Tax Payments Extended to June 1

April 29, 2020 – Governor Phil Murphy signed new Executive Order to allow municipalities to grant an extension of 30 days to the grace period for paying property tax.

Under existing law, N.J.S.A. 54:4-67(a), municipalities may allow a grace period of 10 days from deadline. That means that within 10 days from the due date, the property taxpayer can pay with interest or penalty.

The property tax payment is due on May 1, and the original grace period should have been up to May 11, 2020 only.

The move is still in line with the New Jersey government’s response to curtailing the impacts of the Coronavirus disease on property owners, who may be suffering from financial hardships due to substantial loss of or drop in income and expenses related to healthcare.

“With so many New Jerseyans impacted financially by #COVID19, this is the right thing to do,” said Governor Murphy as he informed his constituents through his Facebook account.

According to Commissioner of the Department of Community Affairs’ Lt. Governor Sheila Oliver, allowing an extension of the grace period will afford New Jersey property owners additional time to get their finances in order and make the June 1st deadline.

“Leaders of towns and cities across the state have been trying to find ways to lessen the blow on local residents, and with this action, they are empowered to provide relief to homeowners as we continue to do everything possible to fight this pandemic,” Governor Murphy said in a press release.

Executive Order No. 130 also recognizes the fact that New Jerseyans have filed a total of 856,528 unemployment claims as of April 13, 2020.

Prior to EO No. 130, local governments have already unilaterally taken their steps to extend the statutory property tax payment installment date and grace period.

EO No. 130 aims to avoid confusion by making a fixed period that applies to all municipalities.